Our Board



The Chairman of the Board of Directors, is the Senior Pastor of Historic Tanner Chapel African Methodist Episcopal Church.  The Board elects the Executive Committee of which consists of the Vice-Chairman, Secretary, and Treasurer.  Executive Committee members may serve up to two (2) three year terms or until a successor has been elected.

The Board of Directors is responsible for varying aspects of the organization including but not limited to the: (1) Duty of Care; (2) Duty of Loyalty;  and (3) Duty of Obedience to the organization.  Additionally, the Board of Directors is fully responsible for ensuring the strategic direction of the organization is in alignment with the mission, vision and values that have been set forth and adopted. 

The Board of Directors has adopted a Code of Conduct and Conflict of Interest statement for its members, and are held to a high standard across the scope of their responsibilities.

Board Members

Chairman & C.E.O.
Rev. Dr. Benjamin N. Thomas, Sr. Senior Pastor Tanner Chapel AME
Vice Chairman
Janet Felton, Ed.D.
Judy Berry-Daw
Regina Edwards, Ph.D.
Robert L, Young Jr.
Jeffrey L.  Mathews, Jr.
William Smitherman
Shirley Mays, J.D.
Angela Allen, Ph.D. Nursing
JoEllen (Ellie) Hutchison